Categories
poems

I Chanced Upon a Summer Breeze

I chanced upon a summer breeze,
blowing eastward to the wayward sea.
No fret, no worries and go with merry,
to the sea, to the sea!

As when I felt it moved beside me,
it glided like a dancing gypsie.
It swoons, it blows and dances freely,
to the sea, to the sea!

As when it went farther, farther than I can see.
I thought of my jovial friend so light and carefree.
Full of life, with a smile and spirit oh so free,
to the sea, to the sea!

But whence again I saw her clearly,
nearing the tip of her restless journey.
She hurled, and turned and raged so mighty,
from the sea, from the sea!

She seemed to rush like a scorned deity,
at wits end, no cares, no love for any.
Saddened am I to see her angry,
So changed, so different, no smile left for me.

Leave a comment